Terry Branstad on Budget & Economy



Restored Iowa's rainy day and economic emergency funds

Three years ago, like many other states, Iowa faced serious budget challenges. The path to prosperity was grim. Yet the charge to us was clear: restore predictability and stability to the state to get our fiscal house in order.

Working together, we have done just that. We have passed two biennial budgets that restore predictability to the state budget. These are budgets that hard-working Iowa taxpayers can depend on, budgets that work for Iowans by prioritizing education, economic development and job training. Today, Iowa's rainy day and economic emergency funds are full and we are fortunate to have a healthy budget surplus. Iowa is working.

Source: 2014 Iowa State of the State address , Jan 14, 2014

End the days of unsustainable commitments

The results of our past budget practices have been across the board cuts and a mountain of broken promises. The days of unsustainable commitments are over. It will come as no surprise to any of you that I am submitting a biennial budget that includes my recommendations for both Fiscal Years 2012 and 2013. Also included with this budget is a five year financial projection that shows how the decisions we make this year will impact the bottom line over the next five years. Iowa desperately needs these financial planning tools and I will insist the Legislature join me in this commitment to provide Iowans with an honest, open, and transparent approach to spending the public's money. We will make our government as good, as dependable, as well-managed as the people it serves.
Source: 2011 Iowa State of the State Address , Jan 27, 2011

Other governors on Budget & Economy: Terry Branstad on other issues:
IA Gubernatorial:
Chet Culver
Jack Hatch
Tom Hoefling
IA Senatorial:
Bruce Braley
Doug Butzier
Joni Ernst
Matthew Whitaker
Sam Clovis

Gubernatorial Debates 2017:
NJ: Fulop(D) vs.Lesniak(D)
VA: Gillespie(R) vs.Wittman(R) vs.Northam(D)
Gubernatorial Debates 2016:
DE: Bonini(R) vs.Carney(D)
IN: Pence(R) vs.Gregg(D)
MO: Hanaway(R) vs.Brunner(R) vs.Kinder(R) vs.Greitens(R)
MT: Bullock(D) vs.Perea(R) vs.Johnson(R) vs.Gianforte(R) vs.McChesney(D)
NC: McCrory(R) vs.Cooper(D) vs.Spaulding(D)
ND: Dalrymple(R) vs.Stenehjem(R) vs.Becker(R) vs.Heitkamp(D) vs.Pomeroy(D)
NH: Hassan(D) vs.Bradley(R) vs.Sununu(R) vs.Lavoie(R) vs.Connolly(D) vs.Dextraze(I)
OR: Brown(D) vs.Bell(D) vs.Niemeyer(R) vs.Pierce(R)
UT: Herbert(R) vs.Johnson(R) vs.Cook(D)
VT: Shumlin(D) vs.Minter(D) vs.Dunne(D) vs.Scott(R) vs.Lisman(R) vs.Smith(D)
WA: Inslee(D) vs.Bryant(R)
WV: Kessler(R) vs.Cole(D)
Newly-elected governors (first seated in Jan. 2015):
AK-I: Bill Walker
AR-R: Asa Hutchinson
AZ-R: Doug Ducey
IL-R: Bruce Rauner
MA-R: Charlie Baker
MD-R: Larry Hogan
NE-R: Pete Ricketts
OR-D: Kate Brown
PA-D: Tom Wolf
RI-D: Gina Raimondo
TX-R: Greg Abbott

Lame ducks 2015-16:
DE-D: Jack Markell
(term-limited 2016)
KY-D: Steve Beshear
(term-limited 2015)
LA-R: Bobby Jindal
(term-limited 2015)
MO-D: Jay Nixon
(term-limited 2016)
VT-D: Peter Shumlin
(retiring 2016)
WV-D: Earl Ray Tomblin
(term-limited 2016)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Local Issues
Social Security
Tax Reform


Page last updated: Dec 10, 2016