Dave Freudenthal on Immigration

Democratic WY Governor

We need more boots on the border

The Governor discussed the suggestion that the 14th Amendment to the US Constitution should be changed to close what some have termed a loophole; that children born in this country are automatically US citizens. Noting that both political parties have ignored the Federal responsibility with respect to the border, the Governor said they're more concerned about how many boots show up at the election polls rather than how many boots are on the border.

Freudenthal said, "This isn't rocket science. It's real clear that what you need to do is have a much larger presence on the border. You need to have some form of work permit that is easier for everybody from the sheep rancher, to the construction guy, to the hotel worker, for those companies to get ahold of and you need better control of the border. And they all avoid all of that because it's not going to be cheap, it needs to be done and employers are going to have to have some sanctions. Amending the 14th Amendment creates a distraction."

Source: 2011 gubernatorial press release, "Federal Offloading" , Aug 11, 2011

Other governors on Immigration: Dave Freudenthal on other issues:
WY Gubernatorial:
Matt Mead
WY Senatorial:
John Barrasso
Michael Enzi

Newly seated 2010:
NJ Chris Christie
VA Bob McDonnell

Term-limited as of Jan. 2011:
AL Bob Riley
CA Arnold Schwarzenegger
GA Sonny Perdue
HI Linda Lingle
ME John Baldacci
MI Jennifer Granholm
NM Bill Richardson
OK Brad Henry
OR Ted Kulongoski
PA Ed Rendell
RI Donald Carcieri
SC Mark Sanford
SD Mike Rounds
TN Phil Bredesen
WY Dave Freudenthal
Newly Elected Nov. 2010:
AL: Robert Bentley (R)
CA: Jerry Brown (D)
CO: John Hickenlooper (D)
CT: Dan Malloy (D)
FL: Rick Scott (R)
GA: Nathan Deal (R)
HI: Neil Abercrombie (D)
IA: Terry Branstad (R)
KS: Sam Brownback (R)
ME: Paul LePage (R)
MI: Rick Snyder (R)
MN: Mark Dayton (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
NM: Susana Martinez (R)
NV: Brian Sandoval (R)
NY: Andrew Cuomo (D)
OH: John Kasich (R)
OK: Mary Fallin (R)
PA: Tom Corbett (R)
RI: Lincoln Chafee (I)
SC: Nikki Haley (R)
SD: Dennis Daugaard (R)
TN: Bill Haslam (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WY: Matt Mead (R)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Contact info:

Page last updated: Nov 21, 2011