Dave Freudenthal on Environment

Democratic WY Governor

One year moratorium on eminent domain for wind power-lines

In the Industrial Siting Act, two items are controversial: One is my suggestion that we suspend wind generation companies' power of condemnation to build collector power-lines. I do this mindful of the fact that it is going to produce some significant controversy.

The exercise of eminent domain by a private party is the exercise of a state authority granted by the Legislature. It is a decision by the Legislature to prefer one group's property rights over those of another.

When wind companies say t you, "We don't use eminent domain," the truth is we have not used a nuclear bomb since World War II, but the existence of the deterrent nuclear arsenal has colored every discussion about international and national security in that time.

The same is tru with regard to eminent domain. The fact it is not used does not mean it is not a part of the conversation. I am not suggesting we do away with it forever. I am suggesting we take a one-year hiatus. This moratorium is limited to collector lines.

Source: Wyoming 2010 State of the State Address , Feb 8, 2010

Other governors on Environment: Dave Freudenthal on other issues:
WY Gubernatorial:
Matt Mead
WY Senatorial:
John Barrasso
Michael Enzi

Newly seated 2010:
NJ Chris Christie
VA Bob McDonnell

Term-limited as of Jan. 2011:
AL Bob Riley
CA Arnold Schwarzenegger
GA Sonny Perdue
HI Linda Lingle
ME John Baldacci
MI Jennifer Granholm
NM Bill Richardson
OK Brad Henry
OR Ted Kulongoski
PA Ed Rendell
RI Donald Carcieri
SC Mark Sanford
SD Mike Rounds
TN Phil Bredesen
WY Dave Freudenthal
Newly Elected Nov. 2010:
AL: Robert Bentley (R)
CA: Jerry Brown (D)
CO: John Hickenlooper (D)
CT: Dan Malloy (D)
FL: Rick Scott (R)
GA: Nathan Deal (R)
HI: Neil Abercrombie (D)
IA: Terry Branstad (R)
KS: Sam Brownback (R)
ME: Paul LePage (R)
MI: Rick Snyder (R)
MN: Mark Dayton (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
NM: Susana Martinez (R)
NV: Brian Sandoval (R)
NY: Andrew Cuomo (D)
OH: John Kasich (R)
OK: Mary Fallin (R)
PA: Tom Corbett (R)
RI: Lincoln Chafee (I)
SC: Nikki Haley (R)
SD: Dennis Daugaard (R)
TN: Bill Haslam (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WY: Matt Mead (R)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Contact info:

Page last updated: Nov 21, 2011